Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 31st, 2014

The Wilder Center

The Wilder Center has a rich heritage. The building was used as a church for many years. Lyme Properties purchased the building a few years ago with the intent to restore it and make the space available to the community. It is now used for company banquets, classes, music events, lectures, private parties, and even weddings. The remodeled center is beautiful.

If you are in the area, stop by for a visit.

 

Charles T. Wilder and his brother Herbert came to the Upper Valley in 1882 to construct the Wilder Brothers Paper Mill, located alongside the Connecticut River at what was then known as “Olcott Falls.” By the early 1890s the mill complex became one of the largest paper producers in New England, and the surrounding village flourished, in no small part due to the vision of the Wilders.

One of Mr. Wilder’s contributions to the community was this building, known as the “The United Church of Christ in Olcott,” constructed from 1888–1890. It became “The First Congregational Church of Wilder” when the village was renamed following the death of Mr. Wilder in 1897. Learn more.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: